Book Jackets

book jacket

book jacket

 

This is a copy of the whole jacket. We’ve gone through a few tries to get it right. First, the dog collars were all dark, and the dogs were too “fancy,” especially Adam the Mutt (and it all begins with Adam…). Sometimes I don’t get to see the cover of a book until it arrives on my doorstep. I love that Dutton let me have a bit of input. Joe, my husband, is the one who came up with the idea of putting initials on the dog tags: BD + WS, for Bailey Daley and her first love, Went Smith. And so on… More later

19 Responses to “Book Jackets”

  1. Jena Says:

    Ah! I’m so excited! haha – I haven’t really read anything for a long time, I’ll read away when this comes out!! 😀

  2. Jed Henry Says:

    From the little bit Dandi read at our workshop, I fully expect this to be a fun, quirky, and potent book. When does it hit the shelves?

    Jed

  3. dandimackall Says:

    Thanks, Jed! Hits the shelves on Feb. 4, 2010. I’m finally trying to get ahead of the game and do some PR before the book comes out.

  4. Maureen Pento Says:

    The book is entertaining and full of good morals. How unique to liken the relationships of guys dated to dogs—cf their loyalty etc. I wouldn’t be surprised if they made the book into a movie!

  5. Amy Parker Says:

    Dandi! Looks completely adorable. Can’t wait to read (and give to my niece :)! Keep up the blogging. Would love to hear more from you!

  6. Lisa Nissen Says:

    So excited to read it. Loved that you wrote the jacket while at the conference. It was great to see your creative genius at work. Loved Larger than Life Lara and I’m sure there is only more great things to come.

  7. ljamstutz Says:

    My kids will be excited to hear about your new books. Glad to see that you’re starting a blog!

  8. Neil Hughes Says:

    Dandi, those dogs are terrific and I’m really glad that they don’t have to die for any dramatic device 😉 You are inspiring.

  9. Debbie Brown Davis Says:

    Dandi,
    Congratulations to a deserving JCPenney grad! We’ll ignore the year 🙂 Your genius is well honed and I love your continued insight into the relationship between humans and our animals of choice or chance! Hope you are riding…email me privately between chapters..
    Deb

    • dandimackall Says:

      Debbie, how cool to see you here! Thanks for the comment. I’m still riding, but keeping to the pasture mostly. Wouldn’t surprise me if you’re still showing, though. Isn’t it about time for a reunion? Our tenth, right??? Dandi

  10. Patricia Rains Says:

    Congratulations to you on the expected release of your newest book! What a great cover idea, and how wonderful of the publishers to allow your input! Who better to give graphics ideas than the author?!

    God’s best to you!
    Pat

  11. Jena Says:

    AH YES!!! Finally another book to read – I almost want to start re-reading the other ones that I already made. I love your romance stories – it keeps me reading! 🙂

  12. Jena Says:

    I mean to say “I almost want to start re-reading the other ones that I read.” – sorry I’m sleepy.

  13. dandimackall Says:

    Thank, Jena! Great to hear you’ve liked the others. Thanks for letting me know-Dandi

  14. Mary Elizabeth Anderson Says:

    Dandi,

    I’m not at all sure how I showed up on this blog? Anyway, you new book sounds fun and exciting. The cover looks adorable. Keep up the blogging, it’s fun to read. Sounds like you’re quite good at PR, but then I would expect that of you. Did you ever sign to be one of my “friends” on Jacketflap?

    Liz

    • dandimackall Says:

      Hi, Liz! I’m glad you stumbled onto the blog. I’m still finding my way with it. Hope things are going well with you. Thanks for the cyber visit–D

  15. Selena Says:

    Dandi, are you going to let us know what happens to Winnie when she grows up?

    • dandimackall Says:

      Hi, Selena, Thanks so much for finding me here! I love that you want to know more about Winnie! She feels real to me, too. Have you read Dark Horse, the 4th book in the Starlight Animal Rescue series? Winnie and Catman are graduating from high school and setting out on new paths–really fun to see them three years later than in Winnie the Horse Gentler. I guess we’ll both have to see if Winnie shows up again as an adult. D

  16. Selena Says:

    I haven’t read Dark Horse, but I REALLY want to.

Leave a Reply

