In-house Publicity

My Boyfriends' Dogs

My Boyfriends' Dogs

I’m trying new things to promote this book, and it seems impossible to predict what will work and what won’t. But here’s the new thing I tried. This book releases Feb. 4, so my target for publicity right now is “in-house,” the sales, marketing, and publicity folks at Penguin. So…I had pink, blue, and yellow T-shirts made with the cover art on the front. I wrapped each shirt in paper that had dogs with party hats on, applied a pink bow, inserted a postcard or note with My Boyfriends’ Dogs logo and the tagline: 3 Guys, 3 Dogs, 3 Love Stories…And 1 Girl. And I sent a package to each of the 9 top marketing and PR people, at least those I knew about. The shirts arrived early this week, and I’ve gotten some fun and delightful emails in return. Plus, Dutton offered to reimburse me! So far, so good. But let me know if you think this is silly. I’ve already confessed that I’m ignorant of PR strategies.

I’d love to run some kind of contest or giveaway for the rest of the shirts when it’s closer to the release date. Any ideas?? Thanks–Dandi

Tags: , , , , , ,

7 Responses to “In-house Publicity”

  1. Jena Says:

    Hmmm…well, I have a couple ideas that would be great for a giveaway/contest. You could have a short stories contest about a pet or some topic! That would be awesome!

    I’m excited for your book! πŸ™‚

  2. dandimackall Says:

    Thanks, Jena! That’s a terrific idea. And thanks for the excitement–may it be catching!

  3. Cindy Says:

    I love that shirt, I want it. LOL

    • dandimackall Says:

      Cindy, I do have a shirt up for grabs, and a contest sounds terrific. I’d love it if you could pull off a contest. Maybe Jena (above) could help? I’m too slammed busy to do anything more, I fear. Right now I’m working on writing two books at the same time, while trying to promote this one. But I’m not complaining (even though it sounds like I am). Honestly, I’m grateful to be writing! And I would love any help offered. I still want to pull together a “blog tour,” too.

  4. Cindy Says:

    If you decide you want to give any away, I’d love to do a contest for you!

  5. Jena Says:

    I’d love to help out! If you want me to do anything for you, let me know πŸ˜‰
    Yes, I know – that shirt is way cute!

  6. Stephanie Says:

    I just finished the book My Boyfriends’ dogs today!!!!!! I had read it in 2 days!!!!!( i am not lieing!!!!) And i want that shirt i really want people to read it!!!!!! Where could i get 1????

Leave a Reply

