READING . . .

Dad on step

This is my dad (Frank from WITH LOVE, WHEREVER YOU ARE) reading on our back step in Hamilton, MO. I think I was in high school when I took this picture. Just this morning I read an article that explained how reading creates more white matter in the brain and expands learning areas of the brain, enhancing intelligence and empathy. Dad read every chance he got–everything from novels to medical journals, how-to books to Alfred Hitchcock magazines. I remember Mom laughing over funny novels, like Please Don’t Eat the Daisies, while Maureen and I read novels . . . and comic books. What books do you guys remember reading when you were kids? What did your parents read? What are you reading now?

Tags: , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “READING . . .”

  1. Jennifer Says:

    WInnie the Horse Gentler, Horsefeathers, Nancy Drew, Mandie, basically anything animal related, or mysteries. I still love reading those subjects! It’s hard to find good books like that. One of my most recent books I have read is the Hidden Mickey series. SSOO Good, and funny! (And great mysteries) Other ones I have recently read are, of course, With Love Wherever You Are and Just Sayin’. I used to read CONSTANTLY, but lately I haven’t found that many books to read that sound good. Sometimes I miss that.
    Anyways, the books I know my Mom and Grandma read when they were little were Nancy Drew. I guess we’re a multi-generation lover of Nancy Drew! Lol.

  2. dandimackall Says:

    Cool! Thanks, Jennifer. I’ve loved some of those books too.

  3. Kay Norfleet Says:

    Well, I love a mystery. However, recently I have been reading a lot of historical fiction…that’s on you, Dandi, because I read a lot of books on WW2…sort of like “With Love, Wherever You Are.”

Leave a Reply

