Car Trips with Frank and Helen

Daley Trio

This may not look like a car trip of happy campers (Maureen was taking the picture), but my memories of our travels are all good–except for my persistent carsickness, which continues to this day. Car time was one of the best times to pump my parents for stories, many that became part of WITH LOVE, WHEREVER YOU ARE. Joe and I have always used car trips for telling our kids family stories, and now they tell their kids and we get to trap our grandkids in the car and inundate them with stories. That’s the way it works.

Granddaughter Cassie, barely 7, listened intently to my husband’s story about a fishing trip when his mom caught the big fish. Cassie knew that “Pa’s” dad died when Pa was a kid. She studied a picture of her, sighed, then said, “I miss all the dead people I didn’t get to know.” Me too. But our stories are the next best thing we can offer.

Tags: , , , ,

3 Responses to “Car Trips with Frank and Helen”

  1. Brenda Guggenbiller Says:

    I can just hear Cassie saying that. She makes me smile every time we have a conversation, which is pretty much every time she sees me at the library. Brenda

  2. Kay Says:

    Dear one of my favorite cousins(please notice how diplomatic that is)
    Cassie is seven?? Well, wise for that age and I must say I do agree with her, but also with you because memories help.

Leave a Reply

