SOLDIERS–WITH LOVE, WHEREVER THEY WERE

Helen and Frank – with heavy loads

Life got rougher once my mom (Helen) and my dad (Frank) reached their first overseas assignments–Helen starting in Liverpool in England; Frank through England to France in the beginning. They joined other nurses and doctors and soldiers in guarded hospitals, bombed-out factories-turned-hospitals, and battlefield tent-surgeries, but they were always stationed far from each other. Not only did they have to do their best to care for patients suffering from every kind of malady and injury, but they worried about each other. I hope the letters I was able to include in With Love, Wherever You Are revealed their character. Even as they wrote 2-3 letters or V-mails a day, Frank’s thoughts were on Helen, and hers on him. Through those letters, which I never knew existed until Dad told me right before he died, I got to know my parents as young lovers, newlyweds. Eventually, after reading and re-reading over 600 letters, I began to detect the depth of the worry and strain they tried to conceal. But I think their love and hope and faith shine through (most of the time…), along with their avid desire to see each other, if only for a day or two.

Please remember to share with friends who might be interested in With Love, Wherever You Are. The e-book is on sale everywhere for $2.99 for the rest of this month (Aug., in case you’ve lost track).

Tags: , ,

Leave a comment